We use cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing, you agree to receive cookies on our website. Learn more

Dark Matter Cafe

Café, Burgers

57 Crossgate, Durham, DH1 4PR

Opening at 10:00

Overall

5.5 stars out of 6 5.5 / 6
Food quality 5.2
Delivery time 5.5
Service 5.7

Based on the 45 most recent reviews

45 reviews of Dark Matter Cafe

  • 14/10/2017
    Elliott
    4.5 stars out of 6
    The burger was dry and overcooked. Also it didn't come with the cheese and bacon that I paid extra for.

    Dark Matter Cafe replied

    Hey Elliott, thanks for taking the time to leave a review! We are really sorry to hear this! Please call us for your next order, and we will make sure you have your next burger on us! Thanks, Dan

  • 25/07/2017
    Stacey
    6 stars out of 6
    very happy with the service and defo will order again!
  • 24/07/2017
    P.
    6 stars out of 6
  • 16/06/2017
    Robert
    4 stars out of 6
    Very cold huge shame :/

    Dark Matter Cafe replied

    Hey Robert, really sorry to hear this! I was very shocked to see that it was a breakfast, which is usually our hottest delivered item! Please accept our apologies and a 20% discount on your next order. Please call us to arrange this :-) Dan

  • 16/06/2017
    Natasha
    4.5 stars out of 6
    Nice food, good delivery, would order again!

    Dark Matter Cafe replied

    Hey Natasha, THANKS! :-D We are pleased. If you get a couple of mins, please do get in touch with us directly, to give us a little more information on what didn't make our service the full 6 stars :-D Dan

  • 07/07/2017
    Vikki
    6 stars out of 6
    great service (and thank you for the free badges).
  • 13/07/2017
    Samantha
    6 stars out of 6
  • 14/07/2017
    Laura
    6 stars out of 6
    my apologies for not reviewing earlier. the food was nice and a tad late....totally forgivable but the thank you and Pokémon cards was such a nice touch. thoughtful.
  • 17/07/2017
    Vikki
    6 stars out of 6
    great as always.
  • 18/04/2017
    Julie
    6 stars out of 6
    Lovely food delivered on time and hot.

    Dark Matter Cafe replied

    Thanks Julie! :-D <3

  • 20/04/2017
    Vikki
    6 stars out of 6
    Outstanding as always. I'll continue working my way through the menu.

    Dark Matter Cafe replied

    Thanks Vikki! :-D <3

  • 20/04/2017
    Claire
    6 stars out of 6
    Lovley food :) will defo order again

    Dark Matter Cafe replied

    Thanks Claire! :-D <3

  • 24/04/2017
    Liam
    6 stars out of 6

    Dark Matter Cafe replied

    Thanks Liam! :-D <3

  • 27/04/2017
    Chloe
    6 stars out of 6

    Dark Matter Cafe replied

    Thanks Chloe! :-D

  • 01/05/2017
    Gwennaelle
    5 stars out of 6
  • 05/05/2017
    Chloe
    6 stars out of 6
  • 09/05/2017
    Lauren
    3.5 stars out of 6

    Dark Matter Cafe replied

    Thanks for your review, I am very dissapointed that in this case we tried to resolve your issue, but prior to our outcome have left this review. We have offered a gesture of good will via Facebook. We hope next time that your review of us will be a great 6 stars!

  • 12/05/2017
    Whitestardrop
    3 stars out of 6
    I was so looking forward to it I wont be going here again not worth the cash Chips tasted like the potatoes had gone bad u know when they have that funny taste Burger was thin dry n stiff Not enough food for the price either change the price or the amount of food The only thing that tasted nice bcs i had a few syrups in it was the frappe but it was loaded too much of cream

    Dark Matter Cafe replied

    Hey Whitestardrop, we're deeply saddened that you didn't enjoy your meal. Our chips are the highest quality super crisp frozen fries that we can get to keep our cost competitive, so I am unsure why they would taste bad, also the oil was changed the day before your order, so it was lovely and clean, I'm sorry you didn't like their taste, we LOVE them, a little too much, I should really stop eating the profits of them... We have noticed recently that some of the burgers get a little dry, and this is something we are working on improving, so please accept my apology on this one, it is something we are working to improve. As for the amount of food, our portitions are hugely fair and competitive, so I am wondering if there was an issue with the preparation of this order, which we are investigating with the member of staff involved. Thanks for your order! I'm sorry it wasn't to your liking. Should you wish to try us out again, please do call us so we can get your order just right, and send a free dessert item in compensation.

  • 15/05/2017
    Sarah
    6 stars out of 6
    made my day when we got the thank you note it was lovely

    Dark Matter Cafe replied

    Thanks Sarah! We do try :-D

  • 30/05/2017
    Matt
    6 stars out of 6

    Dark Matter Cafe replied

    Thanks Matt <3

  • 12/06/2017
    Charlotte
    5 stars out of 6
    Such lovely service, wasn't super warm by the time it arrived but still tasted good! Lovely touch with the comic we got with our order too!

    Dark Matter Cafe replied

    Thanks Charlotte, apologies if it wasn't so warm, due to the size of your order I think some things came off the grill a couple of mins before the rest. We have put a proceedure in place now to try and keep the temperature warmer in the future :-) Cheers, Dan

  • 13/03/2017
    Tom
    4 stars out of 6

    Dark Matter Cafe replied

    Hey Tom, thanks for taking the time to review us! I notice that your review is only the 4 stars. Feedback is essential to how we continue to improve! Please let us know by contacting the store via email, how we can improve for the future.

  • 30/03/2017
    Antony
    6 stars out of 6

    Dark Matter Cafe replied

    Thanks Antony! :-D <3

  • 03/04/2017
    Vikki
    6 stars out of 6
    Great food and service as always. Thank you.

    Dark Matter Cafe replied

    Thanks Vikki! :-D <3

  • 13/04/2017
    Danica
    6 stars out of 6
    Brilliant food and quick delivery! The milkshake was awesome

    Dark Matter Cafe replied

    Thanks Danica! :-D <3

  • 13/04/2017
    Daniel
    6 stars out of 6
    The food from here is simply top quality. There was a little mistake in my order that one meal was missed by mistake however a quick phone call and this was resolved very promptly. Can not fault the delivery driver either as his customer service was exemplary and should be commended as such. Thank you for the gift as a way of apology it was a nice touch. Will definitely use again!

    Dark Matter Cafe replied

    Thanks Daniel! :-D <3

  • 14/04/2017
    Yiheng
    6 stars out of 6
    Best local takeaway! Nice stuff, fast delivery, use real beef instead of cheep ones like most of the other takeaways, nice chips & desserts, and really lovely little present! Highly recommend!!b

    Dark Matter Cafe replied

    Thank you Yiheng :-D <3 we are trialing other burgers at the moment, which are a little thiner but still as tasty and 100% beef, but quicker to cook so we can get things out super quick! Look forward to your future orders :-D

  • 14/04/2017
    Kym
    6 stars out of 6
    Amazing food as usual. Delivery was on time and the customer service here is excellent. This place really is a gem of a takeaway/cafe. I highly recommend ordering!

    Dark Matter Cafe replied

    Thanks Kym! :-D <3

  • 17/04/2017
    Phil
    6 stars out of 6
    No complaints

    Dark Matter Cafe replied

    Thanks Phil! :-D <3

  • 18/04/2017
    Avery
    4 stars out of 6
    sadly burger patties were rock hard and fries tasted slightly sour. the milkshake was lovely! also the gift pin was a nice surprise.

    Dark Matter Cafe replied

    Hey Avery, oh no! Burgers should be suculent and tasty, not rock hard! Something must have gone wrong in our preparation process, next time you order, please call the store for a 20% discount off your food delivery! I'm not entirely sure what could have caused a sour taste to the fries, this is a new one to me so I can't offer any explination about this. Hopefully next time we can delight you further! :-D

1 of 2 next 30

There are no items in your basket

Free delivery

View order